You are here

Ohio State University Wins Fourth and Final Year of the EcoCAR 3 Competition

The Ohio State University’s EcoCAR 3 team won its fourth consecutive EcoCAR 3–Advanced Vehicle Technology Competition on May 22. EcoCAR 3 is a four-year collegiate automotive engineering competition that challenges 16 universities across North America to redesign a stock 2016 Chevrolet Camaro, improving its efficiency and emissions while retaining the iconic Camaro performance quality.

With the win, the Buckeyes took home a final victory and extended their four-year streak to five years, having placed first in the final year of the EcoCAR 2: Plugging In To The Future competition, and additionally taking home first-place awards in the first three years of EcoCAR 3.

“Our team philosophy focused on building students instead of building a car,” said NSF Outstanding Faculty Award winner and Ohio State University team faculty advisor, Dr. Shawn Midlam-Mohler. “By prioritizing student potential and team culture, we were able to not only be competitive in each of the major areas, but ultimately win overall.”

The EcoCAR 3 competition recognized the Ohio State team for its work over the past year with 18 awards including pre-competition deliverables.

“I’m going to miss the people that I had the privilege to work with the past five years but am incredibly appreciative for the amazing hands-on opportunities that I wouldn’t have had otherwise,” said team lead and engineering manager Brandon Bishop.

Ohio State earned a total of $33,000 for its EcoCAR program.

Individual team members were also honored with awards that showed their dedication to the team and the field of engineering overall. Electrical Team Lead Kerri Loyd demonstrated her innovative ideas and outreach capabilities during her Women in Engineering presentation and was given the General Motors Rookie in Engineering Award.

“I’m incredibly honored to have received the award. It seems like yesterday that I was replacing the transmission in my dad’s car and I can’t believe how far my experiences have taken me,” said Loyd.

“One of our ongoing team initiatives this semester was to increase diversity within the team to ensure that all Ohio State students had the opportunity to engage with our program,” said Bishop.

The team’s efforts were recognized with the NSF Diversity, Inclusion and Equity Award, NSF Outstanding Advisor Award and the first place NSF Innovation Award.

The team had a strong showing across all events and is proud to have finished the year on such a high note.

“Overall, the team reached its maximum potential over the last four years and I’m proud of the vehicle we built as a team,” said controls team member, Kristina Kuwabara. “I’m excited to see how these experiences will shape my professional growth in addition to that of my team’s.”

West Virginia University and the University of Alabama took second and third place in the competition, respectively.

The EcoCAR 3 competition is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Energy and General Motors. Additional sponsors include: MathWorks; National Science Foundation; California Air Resources Board; NXP; AVL Powertrain Engineering; the Bosch Group; ETAS; PACCAR; dSpace, Inc.; Snap-on Tools; Siemens PLM Software; GKN Driveline; Transportation Research Center; HORIBA; DENSO; Champlain Cable; Woodward; Proterra; Ricardo; Mentor Automotive; New Eagle; Gage Products; Tesa Tape; Vector CANtech, Inc.; Delphi Foundation; EcoMotors; Electric Power Research Institute, Inc.; A123 Systems; Flextronics; and Samsung, SDI.

The Ohio State EcoCAR sponsors include The Ohio State University College of Engineering; the Center for Automotive Research; Parker-Hannifin; Cooper Tires; Clean Fuels Ohio; Transportation Research Center; TE Connectivity; Johnson Controls; Parker; Tremec; Ford; Honda;; and Modern Driveline.

To learn more about the EcoCAR 3 program, visit If you are interested in hearing more about the team, follow them on social media @osuecocar. You can also find team and competition photos on the the Flickr page.



About EcoCAR 3

EcoCAR 3 is the latest U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) Advanced Vehicle Technology Competition (AVTC) series. As North America’s premier collegiate automotive engineering competition, EcoCAR 3 is challenging 16 North American university teams to redesign a 2016 Chevrolet Camaro by demonstrating emerging automotive technologies, while still maintaining the performance expected from this iconic American car. Sponsored by DOE and General Motors and managed by Argonne National Laboratory, EcoCAR is the heart of American automotive ingenuity and innovation and is the ultimate training ground for minting future automotive leaders. While this model is the most technologically advanced Camaro in the vehicle’s history, EcoCAR 3 teams will enhance the vehicle even further by applying the latest cutting-edge technologies and incorporating new innovative ideas. Teams have four years (2014-2018) to harness those ideas into the ultimate energy-efficient, high performance vehicle. The Camaro will keep its iconic body design, while student teams develop and integrate energy innovations that maximize performance, while retaining the safety and high consumer standards of the Camaro.